Advisory Groups

Home / Advisory Groups

Advisory Groups

In an effort to encourage the future prosperity and responsible growth of the Town of Oakland, the following groups were formed by caring and dedicated members of our beloved community. These groups have accepted an invitation to come together and meet with the Mayor and Board of Aldermen on a regular basis in order to brainstorm, therefore developing goals and action plans with that end in mind.

In addition, the Oakland Municipality currently consults with and refers to the invaluable resources of the Municipal Technical Advisory Service (MTAS) when planning its future growth and infrastructure.

Planning Commission
Meets the first Tuesday of every month at 7:00 pm.

  • Mayor H. Michael Brown
  • Frank Cates, Alderman
  • Hayes Laughlin, Vice Chair
  • Christina Hall
  • Jackie Smalley, Chair
  • Ruby Fenton
  • Vacancy, Secretary

Design & Review
Meets the first Tuesday of every month following the Planning Commission meeting.

Board of Zoning & Appeals
Meets the fourth Tuesday of every month at 7:00 pm.

  • Arnie Birmingham, Chair
  • John Bigham, Vice Chair
  • Ken Carter, Secretary
  • Judy Miller
  • vacancy

Beautification Board

The Town of Oakland is committed to providing the best service to its citizens, businesses, and visitors.
Please use this website to help us better assist you with your specific needs.
If you need to speak with us, please call 901.465.8523